On Tuesday 26 and Wednesday 27 May we will give the first performances of “Silent Shores”, a newly commissioned string quartet by Scottish composer Tom Harrold.

The new work features in a programme entitled “Youth” – celebrating music by composers, namely Mendelssohn, Beethoven and Webern, at the outset of their careers.

Tom Harrold

Composer Tom Harrold said:

“My second string quartet, Silent Shores, depicts an early-morning boat crossing I was on to the Isle of Arran, in which the island (when viewed from the boat) was shrouded in a cold, still mist. The calmness, serenity and beauty at this scene resonated with me. The work is constructed of three adjoined movements: the first features a haunting, baleful melody; the second is scurrying and frenetic, with hints of reels heard throughout; and the third passage returns to the earlier melodic material, although it is hazier, perhaps even damaged, in this passage. The work is one of the more substantial works in my recent output, and I am thrilled and humbled that the Edinburgh Quartet is giving the world premiere”.

The Edinburgh Quartet commissioned this new work with financial support from Creative Scotland.

Tuesday 26 May 7.30pm, City Halls Recital Room, Candleriggs, Glasgow G1 1NQ
0141 353 8000 www.glasgowconcerthalls.com

Wednesday 27 May 7.30pm, Queen’s Hall, Edinburgh
0131 668 2019 www.thequeenshall.net