Event Description

Haydn – String Quartet Op 20 No 5
Janáček – String Quartet No 2 “Intimate Letters”
Tom Harrold – New work
Tchaikovsky – String Quartet No 2

An emotionally charged programme featuring the most intense of Haydn’s Op 20 quartets; a work which has been described as Janácek’s “Manifesto on Love”; and Tchaikovsky’s second quartet, regarded by the composer in the year it was written as his finest work.  This concert will also feature a new quartet by Tom Harrold as part of the Edinburgh Quartet’s “North-South-East-West” Project in which the Quartet will be joined on stage by local amateur string players.

Supported by Creative Scotland.


North Ness
Lerwick, Shetland ZE1 0WQ
+44 (0)1595 745 500