Event Description

To end their respective residencies, the Edinburgh and Gildas Quartets join together for two Octet works.  The Shostakovich Octet was written while he was still a young student at the Leningrad and its second movment the Scherzo is fizzing with dynamic energy. Svendsen’s work is a substantial undiscovered gem for string octet and was instantly a huge success after its première in 1866.  Norwegian born, Svendsen studied in Leipzig but this work is suffused with Nordic melodic turns of phrase and a hugely romantic richness.  The quartets bring two enigmatic works from their own repertoire to the rest of the concert with Alasdair Nicolson’s quartet based around the elusive texts of Fernando Pessoa and Janacek’s response to the novella by Tolstoy.

Played in the round, this is an opportunity to get close to the performance with the audience surrounding the stage.

St Magnus Cathedral
Broad St, Kirkwall Orkney
KW15 1NX
01856 874894